RSAC Rating Explanations

The Recreational Software Advisory Council informs consumers about the content of software games using the symbols shown below. These symbols appear along with more specific information about each category as labels on software packaging.

The RSAC system was phased out and was replaced by the ESRB system.

ALL Level 1
Level 1
Level 2
Level 2
Level 3
Level 3
Level 4
Level 4
Harmless conflict; some damage to objects
Creatures injured or killed; damage to objects; fighting Humans injured or killed; with small amount of blood Humans injured or killed; blood and gore Wanton and gratuitous violence; torture; rape
No nudity or revealing attire / Romance, no sex
Revealing attire / Passionate kissing Partial nudity / Clothed sexual touching Non-sexual frontal nudity / Non-explicit sexual activity Provocative frontal nudity / Explicit sexual activity; sex crimes
Inoffensive slang; no profanity
Mild expletives Expletives; non-sexual anatomical references Strong, vulgar language; obscene gestures Crude or explicit sexual references